Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Motorsports: Formula Drift crowns its 2012 champion

Filed under:

Daigo Saito Lexus SC430

Coming into the last event of the Formula Drift season no less than seven drivers had a chance at winning the championship. Vaughn Gittin Jr., the 2010 champion, was the odds-on favorite, entering the final with a size points lead gained from back-to-back wins earlier in the season, but other drivers like veteran Rhys Millen, last years champion Daijiro Yoshihara, rookie Daigo Saito and Gittin's fellow Mustang driver Justin Pawlak were all in the hunt.

It was a packed house at Irwindale Speedway in Southern California to watch the finale - for the first time in the event's history all tickets were sold out before the competition even began.

The drivers put on quite a show for the capacity crowd, and Vaughn Gittin Jr. made things interesting by getting knocked out early in the competition. That left the door open for Rhys Millen and Daigo Saito to take the overall points lead. While Millen managed to make the semi finals, it was Saito who took full advantage, beating out every driver he faced in heads-up competition in his 1,200 horsepower Lexus SC430. The first place finish not only gave him the most coveted win in the Formula Drift schedule, but the overall championship as well in his first season. This perhaps makes him the most highly rated drifter in the world, having already won the Formula Drift Asia championship as well as a D1 championship.

You can read the official press release below or check out our photos from the event in the gallery above.

Continue reading Formula Drift crowns its 2012 champion

Formula Drift crowns its 2012 champion originally appeared on Autoblog on Mon, 15 Oct 2012 10:45:00 EST. Please see our terms for use of feeds.

Permalink | Email this | Comments

dual xeon dedicated server steam left 4 dead server managed private server

No comments:

Post a Comment